Give me time, I can get Milan back to the top – Inzaghi

inzaghiThe coach noted that Sir Alex Ferguson needed seven years to win a trophy with Manchester United and insisted he can get the club back to the summit

The Rossoneri are seven-time European champions but currently sit 11th in Serie A and were eliminated from the Coppa Italia on Tuesday at the hands of 10-man Lazio, to whom they lost 3-1 on Saturday in the league.

The defeat to their league rivals has put Inzaghi’s future in greater doubt, but the former striker insists he can bring his side back to the top level if he is given time.

“I’m sorry to have lost a game in which we absolutely did not deserve to,” he said. “Tonight we played well, this team gave everything and I’m sorry to go out this way.

“We have to start again, because of course we have not done what we wanted to. I am not looking for excuses and I don’t want to compare myself to him, but Sir Alex Ferguson won his first title after seven years in charge at Manchester United.

“We know we need to improve but when we have to rebuild and I need to be given the time, and with commitment and hard work we will return Milan back to the way it was.

“I have a president who loves me and is by my side and I have to thank the fans. Tonight we played on par with Lazio, but in the defeat to them on Saturday, we were lower and the result was fair.

“We had a good game in the Coppa and we created a lot, but it did not go well for us at all.

“We must start again with a win, we’re not in the cup any more, but we have to get back into Europe and we have to win on Sunday against Parma.”

Leave a Reply

